Use OneSearch to search across almost all of the library's databases at once for newspaper, magazine, and scholarly journal articles, as well as books and DVDs.
Get an overview of your topic before you begin your research. Start with Credo Reference, a collection of over 800 online dictionaries, encyclopedias, and more.
Start with the databases to your right to locate scholarly articles and remember the following tips:
Full text access to scholarly journals in the arts, humanities, social sciences, business, and sciences, with an embargo for current issues of 2-5 years.
Try one of the following news databases to access articles written at the time of a specific historic event:
Digitized historical and recent newspapers from the US and other countries, including the Helena Independent Record.
Current and archived news coverage at local, state, regional, national and international levels. Features many major U.S. newspapers, along with local and regional titles.
Biographies of influential men and women in American history. Search by name, occupation, or field of influence.
200 years of American history as recorded in magazines, journals, and newspapers.
Explore nineteenth century history, literature, and culture from around the world by searching across multiple archives. Primary source documents include newspapers, reports, photographs, and maps.
19th century newspapers from urban and rural regions throughout the U.S.
Virtually all North American groups are represented, with biographies, Indian publications, oral histories, personal writings, photographs, drawings, and audio.
Large-scale Sanborn fire insurance maps of 209 Montana towns and cities, from 1876 to 1970.
To access the library's resources off-campus, log in with your
NetID (hcs, hce or hcf#) and password.
