Subject and Class Guides: Law & Legal Resources: Find Articles

Legal Reference

Gale Encyclopedia of American Law by Donna Batten
Call Number: Ebook
Publication Date: 2022
Merriam-Webster's Dictionary of Law by Merriam-Webster
Call Number: Ebook

Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Find background information and learn the main ideas of your topic in this collection of over 900 reference books, including dictionaries and encyclopedias.

Tips for Searching Library Databases

Start with the databases to your right to locate scholarly articles and remember the following tips:

Limit results to full-text.
Look for peer-reviewed journals.
Check your spelling!
Select PDF over HTML format.
Check references or bibliographies to expand your search.
Look at subject terms to identify new keywords.

Best Databases for Scholarly Articles & Congressional Publications

CQ Researcher Plus Archive This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
In-depth coverage of significant current issues. Reports are written by experienced journalists and are professionally fact-checked. Thorough overview of topics with links to more resources.
CQ Weekly This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A weekly magazine covering nearly every act of Congress, delivering nonpartisan news and analysis. Coverage from 1983-2017.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Search Google Scholar for free, open access schoarly materials, case law, and some of the journal articles to which Helena College Library has access.
Login to your Google Account. Select "Settings" above the search box, then choose "Library Links" on the left-sidebar menu. Search for "Helena College." Check the box for "Helena College-University of Montana - Fulltext@Helena College." Now, every time you log into your Google Account and go to Google Scholar, you will be connecting to some of the library's databases when you search.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text access to scholarly journals in the arts, humanities, social sciences, business, and sciences, with an embargo for current issues of 2-5 years.
LegalTrac This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Major legal publications including law reviews, law journals, specialty law and bar association journals, and legal newspapers.
U.S. Congressional Serial Set, 1817-1994 This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Digitized copies of reports, documents, and journals of the U.S. Senate and House of Representatives from 1817-1994.

General Databases

Great for any subject!

Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Taylor & Francis This link opens in a new window
Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window

Log into the Databases from Home

To access the library's resources off-campus, log in with your

NetID (hcs, hce or hcf#) and password.

Library Staff

Helena College Library Learning Hub

Email Us

Contact:

1115 Roberts St.
Helena, MT 59601
Donaldson Campus 140
Airport Campus

(406) 447-6943