Citation Guides: Chicago Manual of Style

Click the image below to access the Chicago Manual of Style online, including a Citation Quick Guide for author-date and notes and bibliography formats:

Click the image below to view the guide to Chicago style from Purdue OWL:

The purpose of following a specific style for your citations is to make it very clear when you are citing outside information AND to help the reader find your sources easily. Each part of the citation contains important information about the source, and the formatting provides a standard way to quickly communicate that information to the reader.

For Chicago style, superscript numbers in the body of the paper point readers to corresponding notes either at the bottom of the page (footnotes) or at the end of the paper (endnotes). There is often a bibliography at the end of the paper, as well.

Notes

The first time you cite a source, the note includes the publication information for the work and the page number of the information cited. Each time the same source is used again, it is acceptable to only include the author's last name, a shortened title, and page number. 

Two consecutive notes from the same source are indicated by the term "Ibid." and the page number for the second note.

Bibliography

The bibliography appears at the end of the paper and lists every work cited in the notes. It may also include works consulted but not cited. If a bibliography is included, the notes can be shortened in the body of the paper.

For more information on notes and bibliography, visit The Chicago Manual of Style Online.

From Hacker Guide:

When citing a print book in Chicago Style, remember to italicize the title and capitalize words other than articles (such as a, the, of, etc.) unless the first word of the title or first word after the colon, as in the example above.

From Hacker Guide:

When citing an electronic article retrieved from a database in the Chicago Style, remember to put the article title in italics and capitalize the appropriate words (NOT capitalizing the, and, or, of, etc. unless it is the first word of the title as in the above example).  The title of the journal is also capitalized and italicized.  Include the home link to the database from which you found/retrieved the article. 

From Hacker Guide:

When citing a website in the Chicago Style, include an author if the site has one (which could be an organization) along with as much of the above information as possible to find.  Try to locate and include the date the website's information was published or a "last date modified" (which reflects the most recent changes).  If you cannot find either of these dates, give the date you accessed the website ("accessed March 4, 2012).  Do not italicize the website title unless the website is an online book or periodical.  If you are citing sections or pages of a website, put their titles in quotation marks.