Subject and Class Guides: Encyclopedias: Encyclopedias

Find Background Information

Credo is a collection of over 800 encyclopedias and dictionaries covering virutally any topic. It's a great place to gain a solid understanding of your topic before you begin your research.

CQ Researcher Plus Archive This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
In-depth coverage of significant current issues. Reports are written by experienced journalists and are professionally fact-checked. Thorough overview of topics with links to more resources.
Opposing Viewpoints in Context This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Pro/con viewpoint essays and topic overviews on hot social issues. Link to articles, reference entries, and primary sources supporting each argument.

Log into the Databases from Home

To access the library's resources off-campus, log in with your

NetID (hcs, hce or hcf#) and password.

Additional Resources

Open Access
Scholarly information freely available to everyone - no logins required!
eJournals A-Z
See if the library has access to a specific journal, issue, or article.

Encyclopedias

Comprehensive Chemometrics This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Chemical and biochemical data analysis and manipulation. The work covers all major areas ranging from statistics to data acquisition, analysis, and applications.
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Find background information and learn the main ideas of your topic in this collection of over 900 reference books, including dictionaries and encyclopedias.
Encyclopedia of Agriculture and Food Systems This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Organized by issues facing the world today, including the interaction of agriculture, people, and the environment, as well as management of agricultural systems.
Encyclopedia of American Law This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Covers today's leading cases, major statutes, legal terms and concepts, notable persons involved with the law, and important documents. Click on Gale Ebooks in top left corner to browse encyclopedia.
Encyclopedia of Animal Behavior This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Covers communication, learning, sexual selection, and navigation, as well as emerging topics in cognition, animal welfare, conservation, and applications of animal behavior.
Encyclopedia of Behavioral Neuroscience This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Topics ranging from neuroethology and learning and memory, to behavioral disorders and psychiatric diseases.
Encyclopedia of Cell Biology This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A broad overview of cell biology, includes annotated figures, abundant illustrations, and links to additional reading.
Encyclopedia of Ecology This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive coverage of the complete field of ecology, from general to applied, and includes detailed entries written by leading experts.
Encyclopedia of Entomology This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Coverage includes insect classification, behavior, ecology, genetics and evolution, physiology, and management, and references to relevant literature.
Encyclopedia of Environmental Ethics and Philosophy This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Philosophical and ethical issues underlying environmental issues, policies, and debates. Click on Gale Ebooks in top left corner to browse encyclopedia.
Encyclopedia of Environmental Health This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Covers public health problems including involves toxicology, waste management, water and air quality, pesticides, radiation, noise, and communicable diseases.
Encyclopedia of Forest Sciences This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Advances in forest science techniques and basic information about how the elements of forestry affect politics, the environment, economics, and science.
Encyclopedia of Inland Waters This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Covers all the basic features of inland aquatic habitats, from water chemistry and physics, to the biology of aquatic creatures and aquatic ecosystems of varying size and complexity.
Encyclopedia of Jews in the Islamic World Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Covers the Jews of Muslim lands particularly in the late medieval, early modern and modern periods.
Encyclopedia of Microbiology This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Meets the needs of the diverse number of disciplines dealing with microorganisms, including public health and agricultural and industrial microbiology.
Encyclopedia of Ocean Sciences This link opens in a new window
Covers the breadth and depth of the field with updated content reflecting the latest research in the field.
Encyclopedia of Religion This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Considered a standard reference in the field. Emphasizes religion's role within everyday life and as a unique experience from culture to culture. Click on Gale Ebooks in top left corner to browse encyclopedia.
Encyclopedia of Soils in the Environment This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Covers diverse subject areas from environmental issues, management, agro-forestry techniques, food production, climate change, nutrient depletion, microbial ecology, soil strength, and more.
Encyclopedia of Virology This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Offers a major overview of the field of virology, allowing you to look up virtually any virus of animals, plants, or bacteria.
Gale Virtual Reference Library This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Search a collection of about 15 reference books covering different subjects. Click on Gale Ebooks in the top left corner for individual titles.
Body Systems; Business Plans Handbook; Career Information Center; Consumer Health Care; Encyclopedia of Environmental Ethics & Philosophy; Encyclopedia of Religion; Fashion, Costume, & Culture; Flight & Motion; Gale Encyclopedia of American Law; Gallaudet Encyclopedia of Deaf People & Deafness; Melton's Encyclopedia of American Religions; Middle East Conflict; Scholarships, Fellowships, & Loans; The Gale Encyclopedia of Alternative Medicine; Turkish Novelists Since 1960; Twenty-First Century of American Poets; UXL Encyclopedia of Native American Tribes
Gallaudet Encyclopedia of Deaf People and Deafness This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Information on the issues and culture of the deaf and hearing-impaired community in most of the major countries around the world. Click on Gale Ebooks in top left corner to browse encyclopedia.
Melton's Encyclopedia of American Religions This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive coverage of more than 2,300 North American religious groups in the U.S. and Canada. Click on Gale Ebooks in top left corner to browse encyclopedia.
Oxford Reference Online: Premium This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Over 200 reference ebooks, including dictionaries, encyclopedias, and books in the Oxford Companions series.
Senses: A Comprehensive Reference This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Covering perception and processing of sensory information.

Library Staff

Helena College Library Learning Hub

Email Me

Contact:

1115 Roberts St.
Helena, MT 59601
Donaldson Campus 140
Airport Campus

(406) 447-6943