Click the images below to access some of our favorite websites for citation help!
The APA Style Blog is maintained by the American Psychological Associate and often explains how to cite unique or tricky sources that you may not find on other basic citation guides.
Digitized historical and recent newspapers from the US and other countries, including the Helena Independent Record.
Access the e-edition of the Helena Independent Record. Click "More" for login instructions.
Search and access full text of the newspaper from 1980 - Present. Create and use complimentary account provided by Helena College.
Current and archived news coverage at local, state, regional, national and international levels. Features many major U.S. newspapers, along with local and regional titles.
Full text of the print edition of the newspaper from 1984 to present, as well as the online edition from 2010 to 3 months ago.
The amount of information you can find about a specific company often depends on whether a company is public or private. By law, public companies have to disclose information to the Securities & Exchange Commission (SEC). This means a lot of information about public companies is available to the public.
Private companies are not required to disclose information to the SEC. This means information often is not available to sources outside the company, and it can be difficult to find reliable information about a private company.
Find full text journal articles in all disciplines of business. Also includes financial data, industry reports, market research reports, company profiles, and more.
Find company and industry information, articles, statistical data, and in-depth reports.
Access full-text articles from journals covering a wide variety of subjects and fields, as well as newspapers, dissertations, and more.
Business analysis including industry surveys, stock reports, mutual fund reports, bond reports, corporation records, a register of corporations, and a directory.
Company profiles can contain in-depth information about individual companies, including company history, top executives, competitor lists, financial data, and overviews of the company's products and industry.
Business databases are a great place to start your company research, but they may not have every bit of information you need.
In general, APA citations for a company profile found in an electronic database will appear in the Reference List with this format:
Information Provider. (Date of report). Report title. Database name. Permanent URL.
The address bar link expires after you close your browser, and will give you an error message if you try to use it to go back. For most databases, there is a button or link to get a permanent URL that does not expire. Use the permanent URL link in your citations!
Gale Cengage. (2023). Ulta Beauty, Inc. Company profile. Gale Business Insights database. https://link.gale.com/apps/profile/Company/WGFIGB204559103/GBIB?u=mtlib_1_1041&sid=bookmark-GBIB.
Use the Get Link button to get a permanent URL. You can find the button on the upper right side of the page. The address bar link will expire after you close your browser and will give you an error message if you try to use it to go back.
MarketLine. (2023, April 23). Company profile Ulta Beauty Inc. Business Source Complete. https://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=bth&AN=163792771&site=ehost-live
From the search page, click on the resource title. On the right side of the screen click on Permalink to get a permanent link. The address bar link will expire after you close your browser and will give you an error message if you try to use it to go back.
D&B Hoovers. (2023, April 1). Revlon, Inc Profile. ProQuest Central. http://hctproxy.lib.umt.edu:7048/login?url=https://www.proquest.com/reports/revlon-inc/docview/1860780888/se-2?accountid=86987
Click on the Copy URL button to get a permanent URL. You can find the button on the upper right side of the page. This will copy the link to your clipboard. You can paste the link into your document. The address bar link will expire after you close your browser and will give you an error message if you try to use it to go back.
You need to cite things from S&P a little differently. This database has content only found in this database, and it does not have a way to get a permanent URL. The database updates information consistently, too, which requires a date retrieved in the citation even though this is not required in most APA citations. This is the format to use:
Information Provider. (Date of report). Report title. Retrieved date from Database name.
This is an example from the database:
S&P Global. (2023). Ulta Beauty, Inc.: Public company profile. Retrieved November 15, 2023, from S&P Global Net Advantage database.