Subject and Class Guides: Anatomy & Physiology: BIOH 201 & 211: Find Articles

Find Background Information

Gather background information for an overview of your topic before you begin your research. Start with Credo Reference, a collection of over 800 online dictionaries, encyclopedias, and more.

Recommended Titles in Credo:

Harvard Health Topics A-Z by Harvard Medical School
In-depth descriptions of the most common diseases, symptoms, procedures, and tests written by Harvard Medical School faculty members.
The Human Body Book by DK
Revealing and detailing all aspects of the body, including the functions of every major body system.

Also Recommended (Not in Credo):

Body Systems by Jacqueline L. Longe
Covers the 14 systems of the human body and their role and functions both from an individual organ perspective and each system as a whole.

Best Databases for Scholarly Articles in A&P

PubMed This link opens in a new window
Citations for biomedical and life sciences journal articles. Includes links to full-text content, when freely available or available through the library.
PubMed Central This link opens in a new window
Part of PubMed, biomedical and life sciences journal articles freely available online.
From the U.S. National Institutes of Health's National Library of Medicine (NIH/NLM).

General Databases

Great for any subject!

Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
Taylor & Francis This link opens in a new window
Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new window

Tips for Searching Library Databases

Start with the databases to your right to locate scholarly articles and remember the following tips:

Limit results to full-text.
Look for peer-reviewed journals.
Check your spelling!
Select PDF over HTML format.
Check references or bibliographies to expand your search.
Look at subject terms to identify new keywords.

Library Staff

Library Learning Hub

Contact:

library@helenacollege.edu

(406) 447-6943

Log into the Databases from Home

To access the library's resources off-campus, log in with your

NetID (hcs, hce or hcf#) and password.