Log into the Databases from Home
To access the library's resources off-campus, log in with your
NetID (hcs, hce or hcf#) and password.
Periodicals
- eJournals A-ZThe library has online access to more than 80,000 journals, newspapers, and magazines. Find a specific one here.
The library subscribes to 75 print magazine, journal and newspaper titles. The most recent issues can be found on display in the magazine area of library and are available for check out.
Interlibrary Loan
If you come across an article you need for your research, and the library does not provide full-text access to it in print or electronic format, request it through our Interlibrary Loan (ILL).
ILL requests can take up to 2 weeks to process, but generally costs nothing.
Search Google Scholar
Google Scholar is an easy way to search for scholarly literature online. When searching on-campus, the library's electronic journal holdings will show up in your search results.
If you search from off-campus and you want to see articles the library has access to:
- Log into your Google Account.
- Go to Google Scholar Settings page and click "Library Links" on the left side menu.
- Type "Helena College" in the search box to search for our school
- Click the checkbox beside "Helena College - Full-Text @ HC Library" then Save.
To better use Google Scholar for your research needs, check out Google's search tips.
Find newspaper, magazine, and journal articles in Helena College Library's online databases.
Search everything all at once or choose a specific database for a more targeted approach.
Use the Library Databases!
This video explains the benefits of using library databases for research over searching the web (i.e. what are the differences in the information you are searching).
Posted from Yavapai College Library
OneSearch
Use OneSearch to search across almost all of the library's databases at once for newspaper, magazine, and scholarly journal articles, as well as books and DVDs.
Choosing a Database
Article databases provide you with online access to magazine, journal and newspaper articles via your library. To help you find a specific database or identify the most appropriate databases for your topic/subject:
- Subject & Class GuidesFind the best resources for a particular subject, course, or program. We've chosen the most appropriate databases, useful books and websites and included helpful citation guides.
Depending on the database you are using, you may be able to all or only parts of an article:
- Index: Includes only the article’s citation information (e.g. author, title, date, volume, etc.). Neither a summary, nor the full-text of the article are available.
- Abstract: Includes the article’s citation information and a brief summary of the article's content. Abstracts do not include the full-text article.
- Full-text: Includes an electronic copy of the actual article. Depending on the database, the article may be available in HTML format, .pdf format (displays the article as it originally appeared in the magazine with graphics and pictures), or both.
Comparison of Periodicals
Scholarly Journals |
Popular Magazines |
Newspapers |
|
|---|---|---|---|
Example |
 |
 |
 |
Purpose |
Present original research and ideas | Provide general information and entertainment | Present current events and articles of general public interest |
Audience |
Researchers, scholars and professionals in a particular field | General public | General public |
Authors |
Researchers and scholars | Journalists and staff writers | Staff writers and freelance journalists |
Editors |
Reviewed by editorial board or other experts or peers (peer-reviewed) before publication | Magazine editors | Newspaper editors |
Coverage |
Very narrow, specific subjects | Wide variety of topics of public interest | Current events and special features |
Language |
Technical, scholarly language specific to subject | Easy to read and understand with little technical jargon | Easy to read and understand with little to no technical jargon |
References |
Use citations (footnotes, endnotes, or bibliography/references) | Few to no references included | No references |
Articles |
Longer articles usually including an abstract, introduction/literature review, methods, results, and conclusion | Brief, general summaries of a topic, including background information | Generally brief presentations of facts and events, though features can be longer |
Images |
Tables, graphs or illustrations to support research and arguments | Plentiful color illustrations or photos | Some photographs and illustrations or charts |
| Frequency | Bimonthly or quarterly | Weekly or monthly | Daily or weekly |
Peer-Reviewed Journal Articles
What is a peer-reviewed article?
From Lloyd Sealy Library
In academic publishing, the goal of peer review is to assess the quality of articles submitted for publication in a scholarly journal. Before an article is deemed appropriate to be published in a peer-reviewed journal, it must undergo the following process:
- The author of the article must submit it to the journal editor, who forwards the article to experts in the field. Because the reviewers specialize in the same scholarly area as the author, they are considered the author’s peers (hence “peer review”).
- These impartial reviewers are charged with carefully evaluating the quality of the submitted manuscript.
- The peer reviewers check the manuscript for accuracy and assess the validity of the research methodology and procedures.
- If appropriate, they suggest revisions. If they find the article lacking in scholarly validity and rigor, they reject it.
Because a peer-reviewed journal will not publish articles that fail to meet the standards established for a given discipline, peer-reviewed articles that are accepted for publication exemplify the best research practices in a field.