Click the image below to access the Chicago Manual of Style online, including a Citation Quick Guide for author-date and notes and bibliography formats:
Click the image below to view the guide to Chicago style from Purdue OWL:
The Chicago Manual of Style
by
A Pocket Style Manual
by
A Manual for Writers of Research Papers, Theses, and Dissertations
by
Keep track of your research by saving all of your articles in one place and generate citations in APA, MLA, or Chicago style. Create an account with your Helena College email address to get started.
The purpose of following a specific style for your citations is to make it very clear when you are citing outside information AND to help the reader find your sources easily. Each part of the citation contains important information about the source, and the formatting provides a standard way to quickly communicate that information to the reader.
For Chicago style, superscript numbers in the body of the paper point readers to corresponding notes either at the bottom of the page (footnotes) or at the end of the paper (endnotes). There is often a bibliography at the end of the paper, as well.
The first time you cite a source, the note includes the publication information for the work and the page number of the information cited. Each time the same source is used again, it is acceptable to only include the author's last name, a shortened title, and page number.
The bibliography appears at the end of the paper and lists every work cited in the notes. It may also include works consulted but not cited. If a bibliography is included, the notes can be shortened in the body of the paper.
For more information on notes and bibliography, visit The Chicago Manual of Style Online.
Footnote or endnote (N):
1. First name Last name, Title of Book (Place of publication: Publisher, Year of publication), page number.
Corresponding bibliographical entry (B):
Last name, First name. Title of Book. Place of publication: Publisher, Year of publication.
Example:
N:
B:
Footnote or endnote (N):
1. First name Last name, "Article Title," Journal Title volume, issue (year): page number, DOI or URL. (DOIs are preferred).
Corresponding bibliographical entry (B):
Last name, First name. "Article Title," Journal Title volume, issue (year): page range, DOI or URL.
Example:
N:
B:
Footnote or Endnote (N):
Corresponding Bibliographical Entry (B):
Lastname, Firstname. “Title of Web Page.” Name of Website. Publishing organization, publication or revision date if available. Access date if no other date is available. URL .
Example:
N:
B: