Use OneSearch to search across almost all of the library's databases at once for newspaper, magazine, and scholarly journal articles, as well as books and DVDs.
Find Background Information
Get an overview of your topic before you begin your research. Start with Credo Reference, a collection of over 800 online dictionaries, encyclopedias, and more.
Tips for Searching Library Databases
Start with the databases to your right to locate scholarly articles and remember the following tips:
- Limit results to full-text.
- Look for peer-reviewed journals.
- Check your spelling!
- Select PDF over HTML format.
- Check references or bibliographies to expand your search.
- Look at subject terms to identify new keywords.
Scientific Writing Guides
The Scientist's Guide to Writing: How to Write More Easily and Effectively Throughout Your Scientific Career by Call Number: 808.0665 HEAPublication Date: 2016
Best Bets for Scholarly Articles in Psychology
- PubMed This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Citations for biomedical and life sciences journal articles. Includes links to full-text content, when freely available or available through the library. - PubMed Central This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Part of PubMed, biomedical and life sciences journal articles freely available online.
Try These, Too
- Annual Reviews: PsychologyCovers the significant developments in the field of psychology. Access current and past (back to 1950s) articles.
- Counseling and Therapy in Video This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
More than 700 hours of online training videos, reenactments, and footage of therapy sessions conducted by renowned counselors, psychiatrists, psychologists, and social workers. - ERIC (EBSCO Version) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Find full text articles and citations for educational and education-related journals. - JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text access to scholarly journals in the arts, humanities, social sciences, business, and sciences, with an embargo for current issues of 2-5 years. - PTSDpubs This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Citations and abstracts to the international literature on post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD) and other mental-health considerations of traumatic events. - Sage Journals This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Find peer-reviewed journals in the humanities, social sciences, and science, technology, and medicine. - Taylor & Francis This link opens in a new windowFull-text scholarly articles in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Be sure to refine your search to Only show content I have full access to.
General Databases
Great for any subject!
Log into the Databases from Home
To access the library's resources off-campus, log in with your
NetID (hcs, hce or hcf#) and password.
Library Staff
Della & Trish
Contact:
1115 Roberts St.
Helena, MT 59601
Donaldson Campus 140
Airport Campus
Helena, MT 59601
Donaldson Campus 140
Airport Campus
(406) 447-6943
Website
Literature Review
Succeeding with your literature review a handbook for students by Call Number: EbookISBN: 9786613524904Publication Date: 2012
Organize Your Research
- Refworks (formerly Flow) This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Keep track of your research by saving all of your articles in one place and generate citations in APA, MLA, or Chicago style. Create an account with your Helena College email address to get started.
- ZoteroA free, easy-to-use tool to help you collect, organize, cite, and share your research sources.